15 week old kitty

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Mrs…Keef
    Participant

Hi everyone!
    I’m new to this so please bear with…
    I have a 15 week old kitten that is really naughty – chewing wires, climbing curtains etc and doesn’t seem to respond to us telling her off. She also is in the habit of waking us up at 3am / 4am which is really not appreciated lol!
    My husband is really starting to get annoyed and her behaviour is starting to cause arguments between us (I understand she’s still a baby as such and he doesn’t grasp the fact shes so naughty and doesn’t listen!).
    However, back to the point of the post – I’m really hoping you lovely lot could share some tips of how to discourage her naughty behaviour please, please…PLEASE! 🙁

katzenjammer
    Participant

Hi Katie,

Other TDKers should have further advice. You vet or vet tech might be able to provide some tips on interactive play and learning the warning signs when kitty is getting into attack mode and what to do as a telling off might not help. Vet check-up might be a plan anyway.

I have had a cat behaviourist come to my place for a session to see how I interact with my kit. He provided some good help.

Hope you find some ways to “make peace” with your kit.

Mrs…Keef
    Participant

Thank you @katzenjammer.
    I did tell my vet when we went for her first vaccine and she said shes just exploring…there’s exploring and then there’s just being a nightmare!
    We constantly play when I get home from work to use her energy up and make sure she’ll sleep through the night and leave toys and scratch posts in the area she sleeps just in case she gets bored…
    I really do hope that I can get help with the discipline techniques as that may calm her somewhat.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi Mrs….Keef,

Welcome to TDKland. We’re the furriest forum around.