4 week old kitten urinating problem/crying a lot

Home The Daily Kitten Cat Chat Forum Cats & Kittens 4 week old kitten urinating problem/crying a lot

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Kimberly
    Participant

4 week old kitten urinating problem

I am currently fostering a kitten around 4 weeks old. His mother passed and the shelter was going to put them down because they are too young to be vaccinated. I am currently living in Anguilla, BWI. Animals are not treated the same here as they are in the States.

Anyways, I’ve had him for about a week. I had him and his sister, but she unfortunately passed. She was the runt of the litter. This is my first time fostering kittens.
    He has a problem of urinating and then just sitting in it. I have started trying to litter box train but I think he doesn’t like how the litter feels. I can’t get a different one because here in Anguilla this is the only clay non clumping kitty litter they have. The litter pieces are very large and rock like, so I imagine it doesn’t feel the best on his paws. I have had to get pee pads because I was having to do laundry everyday and I thought they would help keep him a bit more dry. They’ve helped with keeping linens clean but he’s still getting soiled.

The other two kittens from his litter are at another foster home and are not having this issue. They are already litter box trained but they are using finer clumping litter and I am not about to take that risk.

I’m just getting frustrating with him being covered in urine. I take him potty right after he eats and 30mins after. He tinkles a little and then throws a fit and no more comes out, so I stop stimulating. Then I put him in his bed and he will sleep for a few hours and then wake up covered in urine. I believe he is urinating in his sleep, but he does have accidents while awake too. I feel like when I stimulate him he isn’t letting it all out.