4 week old baby is struggling

Home The Daily Kitten Cat Chat Forum Introductions 4 week old baby is struggling

Tagged: ,

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    luvkitten7
    Participant

Hello,

I’m new to this. I rescued a 4 week old kitten and am fostering for our shelter. He is not doing well. We have been to the Vet several times and he has been on albon then metronidazole for diarrhea. I’m giving subQ fluids and trying to force feed but he is still going downhill. He vomited KMR so I’m using A/D with Pedialyte and chicken baby food. I’m in the dark here he was fine a week ago when another vet decided to give him albon for his diarrhea. This has caused a downward spiral for him. He is 6oz. today but was 10 oz on Monday. His littermate is doing fine. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. My name is Cheryl and kitten is Keeton.

WillowandWindismom
    Participant

Cheryl, I’m so sorry about baby Keeton. I’m afraid that I have absolutely no experience with this but many others here do. Hopefully they will have good advice for you.

Bless you for taking on Keeton’s care!

Kiplings_cat
    Participant

Unfortunately I also have no experience with kittens, although I have syringe-fed adults. If the force-feeding is not going well, or if he is vomiting, maybe you could try Nutrical(sp?), a high-calorie paste? I’ve heard of it, but have no personal experience w/it.

In a pinch, you can even use a bit of Karo syrup. While the Karo won’t give him nutrition, it may give him a bit of life-sustaining energy. Karo syrup is a fructose/glucose corn syrup; you can rub a bit on the inside of a cat’s mouth (NO GLOBS! He might choke) and some will be absorbed through the mucous membranes without needing the cat to swallow. (We have a diabetic cat; fortunately the only time Zappo had an insulin reaction, he was conscious and ravenous. Still, I gave him a bit in addition to food.)

Best of luck.

Skyron
    Participant