3-4 week old kitten constipated

Home The Daily Kitten Cat Chat Forum Cats & Kittens 3-4 week old kitten constipated

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Shaye
    Participant

Hi, I’m new to TDK and I’m looking for help with a little girl I took in about a week ago.

I brought Sadie into my house on Saturday after I noticed she was constantly being kept away from nursing by her much larger littermates, she was born to one of my barn cats and I’m estimating she was around 3 weeks old at the time because she was starting to walk unsteadily and her baby teeth are just starting to come in.

She took to KMR (powder mixed with pedialyte and water) quickly and has been taking about 10-12ccs of the milk each feeding, but she’s been having constipation issues for as long as I’ve had her. I’m aware that the powdered KMR can cause constipation but I’ve tried diluting it 1:3 instead of 1:2 and I’ve tried adding a couple drops of vegetable oil to her bottle because that’s what I’ve done for previous foster kittens who had trouble adjusting to KMR, but unfortunately none of that has helped. In fact the only change after the vegetable oil was her throwing up that feeding and continuing to be sick for the next several hours, which prompted a very panicked vet trip. This vet trip was tuesday, the 3rd day of having her with no poops, and the vet used a rectal thermometer on her with vaseline which I think loosened her bum up enough because she had a BM in her carrier on the drive back home, and it was huge and very solid. She hasn’t had another BM since, which was 2 full days ago now, and although the vet sent me home with a laxative it hasn’t helped so far and I’m getting worried.